Never Forget

11 Sep

Today always bring back very strong emotions for me much like the rest of the nation.

I was in the 8th grade and my Tata Leo was driving me to school. At that point I got the first glimpse into what was happening. Instead of listening to Radio Lobo on the radio we were listening the the news. My grandfather was upset saying that some planes crashed into some buildings. I had no idea of the gravity of the situation. When I got to school my homeroom teacher had the tv on and was having us watch the action live. During that time we watched the second plane hit. It was the most horrifying moment of my life. Sitting, watching, helpless, unsure what our nation was going through, who was next, when it would be. We are raised to think that the US untouchable. At that time I felt vulnerable, not safe, not protected it was a huge realization for me.

6 months after this happened my Tata Leo passed away and I moved in with my grandma to help her cope for the next two years. I wasn’t a child anymore and the world was a much different place then I used to believe. I will always connect my tata’s death with the event because of the way it lined up with his health declining and the changes that I was dealing with all at once in a short amount of time.

I will never forget how I changed that day, we all changed that day. But I believe we are all much stronger and we share a bond that will never be broken.

Leave a Reply

