Homemade Pizza

2 Aug

Be forewarned this recipe may cause extreme hungriness.

The other day my husband went to trader joes, and brought home all the ingredients I use to make pizza.I was oookkkkk someone wants me to make them pizza, I suppose I can do that. Its not too much work and homemade pizza is THE BEST.

Ingredients

Traders Joes Pre-made Pizza dough

Flour

Spagetti Sauce (we use trader joes marinara)

Olive Oil

Mozzarella

Pizza Toppings (I had a olive oil mushroom, tomato, arugula, pizza. Daniel had red sauce pepperoni and tomato)

crushed garlic

whole garlic

Oregano

Fresh Basil

Image

The first thing that you do is put out the pizza dough on a floured surface to rest for 20 minutes and pre-heat the oven to 450 degrees. After the pizza is done resting you want to stretch it out on a floured surface, gentley pressing it and stretching it to the thickness you like. I like pretty thin:) I have a really great pizza sheet with little holes in it to make the crust nice and crispy but you can cook it on whatever you have handy. I put a little olive oil on my pizza sheet so my crust doesn’t stick, Not to much just a small amount with a paper towel. I stretch out the pizza on the sheet and drizzle it with some olive oil. I add a little crushed garlic to the olive oil to give me crust a little more flavor. I’m not sure what the packaging says  to do but I like to cook my crust on its own with no toppings for about 10 minutes and maybe 5 on the opposite side.

Image

After the crust is the way you like it go ahead with your toppings. On Daniel’s Pizza he wanted red sauce so I spread some out on the crust leaving some room around the edges, I then took my garlic that I cut up in little slivers and added it on top of the red sauce beneath the cheese. This is one of our favorite things. A local pizza place near by does this and boy does it add something to the game. If you love garlic like us this is a must. I added his fresh pepperoni we got at the deli. I brushed the edges of his crust with a little more olive oil and popped it in the oven. For my pizza I brushed some olive oil on the crust added my garlic and cheese, then piled on the mushrooms. I sprinkle some oregano on both pizzas and drizzled just a touch more olive oil on mine since I didn’t have sauce.

Pre-oven picture

Image

I cooked these for about 15 minutes or until the cheese was bubbly and delicious. I topped both pizzas with a little fresh basil and tomatoes, and some fresh arugula for me. A little dust of Parmesan and your done.

Image

Image

If your want to kick this pizza up a little I sometimes add a poached egg atop mine.

Here is a picture from a different night I made this with the egg!

Image

Leave a Reply

