Recipe Pin Try- Crispy Cheddar Chicken

31 Jul

Hello my peeps,

Yesterday as usual I didn’t know what to make for dinner. I was looking through my pin’s on pinterest and I saw a chicken recipe that looked really simple and yummy, and I wouldn’t have to try to convince my husband to eat it because it was very “kid” friendly:) (His palette still needs some work, but we’re getting there!)

This recipe is called Crispy Cheddar Chicken I made a few modification to work with what I had on hand and to give it an extra something.
This is the original recipe by Jamie Cooks it up!

http://www.jamiecooksitup.net/2011/10/crispy-cheddar-chicken.html

Here is the list of the ingredients I used with the modifications.

Chicken:
4 large chicken breasts
3 Cups of Japanese Panko Bread Crumbs
1 Egg
1/4 t salt
1/8 t pepper
1/2 C milk
Lawrys Seasoning
3 C cheddar cheese, grated (I used Colby Jack..whateves)
Chimayo heirloom powdered chile (This is a specialty to NM)
Garlic Powder
Sprinkle of Lawry’s
 
Sauce:
1   10 ounce can cream of chicken soup
2 T sour cream
Garlic Powder (However much you like, I obviously love this stuff)
Side Items:
Asparagus- Steamed then topped with Parmesan cheese, lime, drizzle of olive oil, salt, and pepper.
Steamed White Rice
First Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.
So Basically what you are going to do is cut up your chicken into good sized pieces. Understand the size of your chicken pieces will adjust your cooking time. In a bowl mix together your milk, egg, a little pepper and salt. Have your prep area ready with the grated cheese chicken and breadcrumbs( I put some Lawrys and garlic powder in my breadcrumb mixture). Also don’t forget a little wine for the cook of course.
Image
Then Proceed to dip the chicken in the egg milk mixture, then the cheese, then the breadcrumbs. I found this a bit difficult myself. The cheese doesn’t want to stick, and it just becomes this breadcrumb, cheesy mess, but you can work with this. Don’t worry if your breadcrumbs and cheese start to combine I just went with it and tried to get as much of each ingredient on there as best as possible. Its messy work people but well worth the effort.
Image
Line up your chicken in some sort of casserole dish that will accommodate your chicken. They should fit quite snug. When I put them in the dish I sprinkled some Red Chile Powder and a little amount of Lawrys and Pepper. Then Covered with foil and popped in the over for 30 minutes, then 10 minutes uncovered.
Image
Image
This is my favorite Chile ever, super expensive but I love sprinkling it one everything. Its from the El Santuario de Chimayo in Northern NM. Very beautiful spiritual place. I’m not catholic but I really treasure this spot for its culture, history, and chile of course!
While your chicken is cooking you can go ahead and cook your sauce, rice, and asparagus or whatever side items you’d like.
When it comes out of the oven it should look nice and crispy, cheesy and delicious. Spoon over some sauce, if you or your family is crazy for cheese feel free to grate a little extra to add on top.
Image
Image
Image
2 Responses to “Recipe Pin Try- Crispy Cheddar Chicken”

  1. Hollie July 31, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    Looks de-lish! And you’re right, everything tastes better with red chile! Nice pics, too!,

  2. soididitmyself August 1, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    Looks super yummy!

Leave a Reply

